common core/standards

Common Core Standards and the Arts

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are designed to ensure that students leave school with the knowledge and skills required to succeed in college and in their careers. The Art in Action curriculum provides a broad range of ways to integrate our visual arts curriculum with other core subjects, especially language arts and math. For more on how our lessons are aligned with Common Core Standards, click here or watch our Prezi by clicking the Start Prezi button.

Arts Education Partnership, Common Core and the Arts 
Education Week, Art and the Common Core
Edutopia, Use Arts Integration to Enhance Common Core
National Art Education Association, National Coalition for Core Arts Standards 

National and State Standards

National standards are addressed by the Art in Action online lessons. California State standards are presented by grade and demonstrate how they are aligned with each Art in Action lesson.